Because Every Book Nerd Needs a Good Book Nook

nook

noun

1.   a corner, as in a room.
2.   any secluded or obscure corner.
3.  any small recess: a breakfast nook.
4.  any remote or sheltered spot: a shady nook that was ideal for a picnic.
For those of us who love books, adore books, and love getting lost in books appreciate the ideal book nook.  A nook is a place to cozy up in, to get comfy, to pass the hours, and to become fully absorbed.  We all have our place: the bathtub, bed, cozy chair, porch, swing, hammock.  Some of us may even have the perfect bookshelf to proudly display all our books.  Book nerds understand the appeal of a place to hide away and stick your nose in a book.  So Lauren and I thought we would share some of ours with you; the ones we already have and the dream ones we wish we had!  Take a look then tell us what your dream nook would be!

Lauren and Krista’s Reading Nooks

I live in a world of fantasy, so keep your reality away from me. I see what I want, I want what I see & that is all okay with me.”  ~~ Itzah C. Kret 
“We read to know that we are not alone.”  ~~ William Nicholson
“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”  ~~ Dr. Seuss in “I Can Read With My Eyes Shut!”
“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”  ~~ C.S. Lewis

The Ones We Wish We Had; a.k.a. Our “Dream Bookshelves and Nooks”

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book! — When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.” ~~ Jane Austen in Pride and Prejudice

“Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers.” ~~ Charles William Eliot

“Books are for people who wish they were somewhere else.”  ~~ Mark Twain

“Books are the plane, and the train, and the road. They are the destination, and the journey. They are home.” ~~ Anna Quidlen in How Reading Changed My Life

“Once you learn to read, you will be forever free.”  ~~ Frederick Douglass

“I don’t believe in the kind of magic in my books. But I do believe something very magical can happen when you read a good book.” ~~ J.K. Rowling

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Because Every Book Nerd Needs a Good Book Nook

  1. I’d love to have a book nook in my house….Hmmmm I’m seriously thinking about it right now lol. I usually just sit and read anywhere lol.

    • laurengowing

      A great book nook is key! Somewhere surrounded by your books and in the most comfortable chair you can find! One day I will have a whole library! It will be the biggest nook ever!!! 🙂

  2. MoreCoffeePlz

    these bookshelves are making me drool

  3. yourothermotherhere

    My ideal book nook would be a large over-stuffed heavy chair covered in a light floral print next to a table large enough for the essentials – cups of tea or coffee, a plate of cookies or slices of pizza, a lamp and a bowl of hard candy. The chair and table would sit on an island of fluffy white rug surrounded by hardwood floors that would reflect the light of a fireplace built of riverstone for those days when I looked out of the huge windows next to the chair and seen chilly rain, dark clouds or white snow.

    • laurengowing

      I can actually picture this in my head! Love the attention to detail, the tea, the hard candy, and the chilly rain all sound like a perfect setting for reading. Please post pictures when your dream becomes a reality!!!!

  4. I would surely pick the last one,but I would also close all the lights and use a flashlight… for me that’s the best way to go through a book.

    • laurengowing

      I chose the last one too, but mine would need to be a little bit darker as well. Maybe dark wood instead of white, and close to a window where I can read and look out at night!

  5. Thanks for the great post! Both the shelves and nooks look great. My nook is 400 acres. So not quite a nook…

Leave a Reply

